Click to Home
Go To Search
Board of Health

Board of Health meetings are held the second Monday of each month, unless otherwise specified. Meetings are held at 7 p.m. at the Hoke County Health Center, located at 683 E. Palmer Road in Raeford. All Board of Health meetings are open to the public.

 2017 Meeting Dates
January 9
February 13
March 13
April 10
May 8
June 12
September 11
October 9
November 13



Board of Health Members are appointed by the Board of County Commissioners. Board Members can serve up to three consecutive three-year terms. 

Current Members
 Name Position Member Date  Term Term Expiration
Ms. Kathryn Hostetter Pharmacist
10/10/2017 1 10/10/2020
Mr. Joseph Alston
Public Member 12/12/2011 2 12/12/2017
Ms. Suzanne Balfour, Vice-Chairman
6/1/2009 3 9/8/2018
Mr. Keith Walters Veterinarian-ILO
11/12/2013 2 11/12/2019
Mrs. Patricia Crowder
Public Member
12/12/2011 2 12/12/2017
Ms. Elizabeth Hodgin
1/13/2014 2 1/13/2020
Dr. Mark Thompson Dentist 6/12/2017 1 6/12/2020
Mr. Vance McGougan, Chairman
Prof. Engineer
1/14/2010 3 1/14/2019
Mrs. Jean Squier Public Member 9/8/2015 1 9/8/2018
Ms. Gail Lowery
Registered Nurse 1/9/2017 1 1/9/2020
Mr. Robert Wright
Co. Commissioner
1/2/2001 n/a

Agendas & Minutes
Agendas are available prior to the meetings. Minutes are available following approval.
Most Recent AgendaView All Agendas and Minutes

The Board of Health is the policy-making, rule-making, and adjudicatory body for the Hoke County Health Department. The board has the responsibility to protect and promote public health in Hoke County. The board has the authority to adopt rules necessary to protect and promote the public health of Hoke County

Board of Health

Ph: 910-875-3717
Ext. 2111