Board of Health


Board of Health meetings are held the second Monday of each month unless otherwise specified. Meetings are held at 6:30p.m. at the Hoke County Health Center, located at 683 E. Palmer Road in Raeford. All Board of Health meetings are open to the public.

2023 Meeting Dates

January 9February 13March 13April 10
May 8June 12July N/AAugust N/A
September 11October 9 CancelledNovember 13December N/A


Board of Health Members are appointed by the Board of County Commissioners. Board Members can serve up to three consecutive three-year terms.

Current Members

 NamePositionMember Date TermTerm Expiration
Ms. Kathryn HostetterPharmacist10/10/2017210/10/2023
Mr. James DavisPublic Member01/08/2018201/08/2024
Dr. Susan Hendrix, ODOptometrist11/13/2018111/13/2024
Ms. Liz JosephVeterinarian-ILO6/12/202336/12/2026
Ms. Ellen McNeillPublic Member01/08/2018201/08/2024
Ms. Gail Lowery, FNPPhysician-ILO11/08/2021111/08/2024
Dr. Mark ThompsonDentist6/12/2017210/12/2023
Mr. Chris PuseyProfessional Engineer-ILO05/13/2019105/13/2025
Ms. Leah LeachPublic Member02/17/2020         1            10/17/2023
Ms. Florine Fleming, RN
Registered Nurse1/3/202211/3/2025
Mr. Robert WrightCounty Commissioner12/13/20211N/A


Board of Health Chair: Dr. Susan Hendrix, OD

Board of Health Vice Chair: Mr. James Davis

Agendas & Minutes

Agendas are available prior to the meetings. Minutes are available following approval.

Most Recent Agenda | View All Agendas and Minutes

The Board of Health is the policy-making, rule-making, and adjudicatory body for the Hoke County Health Department. The board has the responsibility to protect and promote public health in Hoke County. The board has the authority to adopt rules necessary to protect and promote the public health of Hoke County